3PAR Users Group

A Storage Administrator Community




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: SPOCC gives wrong page for OS Patches
PostPosted: Wed Mar 13, 2019 9:24 am 

Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 11:20 am
Posts: 67
Location: WI
I have been trying to update one of my 3PARs and found an odd quirk. On all my other arrays I just go to SPOCC and hit updates then 3par updates. It lets me upload files and do the update. For some reason on this array I get the below screen (in attachment) when I click on 3par updates. This is normally the screen you get when doing an update. I dont know how to knock this back to normal. I have rebooted the SP but that didnt seem to work. The SP is 4.4.0 GA - 129 so fairly up to date.

Anyone seen this behavior before? I thought of restarting a service on the array but not sure how to do that or even which one would control that behavior.

Thanks for any insight.


Attachments:
2019-03-13_9-20-35.png
2019-03-13_9-20-35.png [ 24.5 KiB | Viewed 1500 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: SPOCC gives wrong page for OS Patches
PostPosted: Wed Mar 13, 2019 10:40 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 839
Location: Europe
Try removing the 3PAR from the SP and re-added it.

_________________
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my current or previous employers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: SPOCC gives wrong page for OS Patches
PostPosted: Wed Mar 13, 2019 10:47 am 

Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 11:20 am
Posts: 67
Location: WI
Is that something that can be done live? Or does it need to be shut down?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: SPOCC gives wrong page for OS Patches
PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2019 4:14 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 839
Location: Europe
It is not disruptive and does not impact anything.

_________________
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my current or previous employers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: SPOCC gives wrong page for OS Patches
PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2019 9:38 am 

Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 11:20 am
Posts: 67
Location: WI
Ok thanks. I will give it a whirl and see what I get.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: SPOCC gives wrong page for OS Patches
PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2019 9:48 am 

Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 11:20 am
Posts: 67
Location: WI
Just as a note I tried this and it worked!

Thanks MammaGutt!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: SPOCC gives wrong page for OS Patches
PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2019 9:12 am 

Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 1:21 am
Posts: 63
is there some file that tells me in what order to install patches (i know support usally does it but i love to do it myself)?? For examle infosight is telling me now that "System is missing conditional patch(es) P42,P39,P51,P37 for" i tried installing 42 ...got error. Installed 51 and then 37


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: SPOCC gives wrong page for OS Patches
PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2019 12:34 pm 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 839
Location: Europe
sanjac wrote:
is there some file that tells me in what order to install patches (i know support usally does it but i love to do it myself)?? For examle infosight is telling me now that "System is missing conditional patch(es) P42,P39,P51,P37 for" i tried installing 42 ...got error. Installed 51 and then 37


Release notes state requirements (required installed patches) for each patch.

I've not seen anything other than this.

_________________
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my current or previous employers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: SPOCC gives wrong page for OS Patches
PostPosted: Mon Mar 18, 2019 10:37 am 

Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 11:20 am
Posts: 67
Location: WI
sanjac wrote:
is there some file that tells me in what order to install patches (i know support usally does it but i love to do it myself)?? For examle infosight is telling me now that "System is missing conditional patch(es) P42,P39,P51,P37 for" i tried installing 42 ...got error. Installed 51 and then 37


Yeah I just try to do them in ascending order and make sure to check the notes for each to make sure that there are no prereqs that I dont already have installed. Most of the small patches usually dont need anything else. A lot of newer ones can supersede others as well.

Its just a lot of reading to make sure there isnt anything that will be a gotcha. :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: SPOCC gives wrong page for OS Patches
PostPosted: Tue Mar 26, 2019 4:56 am 

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2014 12:53 pm
Posts: 37
Not so long ago there were fantastic documents named like Patches Release Information v20180802 maintained by Sasha Stojkovich on partner page. They disappeared. Probably useless question, but - something like that somewhere ? (forum, blog ...).
Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 21 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt