HPE Storage Users Group

A Storage Administrator Community




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: 3PAR network connectivity
PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2015 4:13 am 

Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2015 3:44 am
Posts: 4
HI!

I have a problem with 3PAR 7200; after restarting Cisco switch there is no more connectivity to management address.
I manage to connect to MFG port, do the "Re-enter network configuration" on one Node, the management address is pingable again, but I'm not able to connect with Management Console or SPOCC.
Today I do the "Re-enter network configuration" on both nodes, now the management address is not pingable at all.

Please help!

Nedeljko


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 3PAR network connectivity
PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2015 12:23 pm 

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2014 12:53 pm
Posts: 37
Hi

Maybe i have a similar problem. After 7200 installation the network people from customer did connectivity tests - pinging 3par, they plugged/unplugged one network - still pinging. Then they unplugged second network and connectivity was lost and remains disconnected even after returning the interface. As usual their network guys have everything correct :-); no security, no mac spoofing... New 3par, no data and hosts, so i restarted both controllers and after some time (not immediatelly) the connection was back.
I have no control over their network but must suggest a solution.
I'm not network specialist, so is there someone who knows the reason ?

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 3PAR network connectivity
PostPosted: Tue Jul 28, 2015 11:13 am 

Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2014 10:55 am
Posts: 77
Its a known issue caused by link flapping.

See more in this forum post:
viewtopic.php?f=18&t=1160&hilit=Link+flap


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 3PAR network connectivity
PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2015 1:12 am 

Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2015 3:44 am
Posts: 4
I have session with HP support yesterday, the problem was in netc process.
The proces was terminated and restarted from root account.

Thank you all for replaying!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 3PAR network connectivity
PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2015 4:26 am 

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2014 12:53 pm
Posts: 37
Hi

Aditional question - is there any way how to switch active-passive network mgmt connection from command line ? (without unplugging the cable)

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 3PAR network connectivity
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2015 3:10 am 

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2014 12:53 pm
Posts: 37
Hi

The customer still has network connection problem.
They asked me, what are the requirements / recommendations from HP to set the parameters of physical Cisco ports (autonegotiation, port speed, duplex, flow control, jumbo frame, ...)
I cannot find it nowhere.

everything i found is

>>
Each controller node supports one Ethernet connection to a switch or hub. Separate
connections from the Ethernet switch or hub to at least two controller nodes are required to support
redundancy. With redundancy, one IP address is shared between the two connections, and only
one network connection is active at a time. If the active network connection fails, the IP address is
automatically moved to the surviving network connection.
<<

I think there is no that recomendation, but maybe someone knows that info?

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 3PAR network connectivity
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2015 9:03 am 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2014 8:34 am
Posts: 187
Try "setnet changenode"
or disable the Port on the CISCO.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 3PAR network connectivity
PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2015 6:52 am 

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2014 12:53 pm
Posts: 37
To Cali :

Thats it. Thank you.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 3PAR network connectivity
PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2020 8:16 pm 

Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2020 8:34 am
Posts: 10
Is it normal for that switch over of mgmt nics to take up to 20 seconds?

Rebooting a node and watching the pings, we lose about 12 pings before the management kicks in on the other node.

I am assuming its only a management thing, as if that happened with the live data ports, there would be chaos.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 3PAR network connectivity
PostPosted: Fri May 22, 2020 12:16 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 1064
Location: Europe
T16 wrote:
Is it normal for that switch over of mgmt nics to take up to 20 seconds?

Rebooting a node and watching the pings, we lose about 12 pings before the management kicks in on the other node.

I am assuming its only a management thing, as if that happened with the live data ports, there would be chaos.


Spanning tree on the switches may take up to 30 seconds to bring the port online.

_________________
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my current or previous employers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 47 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt