HPE Storage Users Group

A Storage Administrator Community




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Advanced Analytics in SSMC
PostPosted: Thu Apr 11, 2019 3:43 am 

Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2014 9:07 am
Posts: 176
has anyone got this working properly yet?

I have a few 3pars now running 3.3.1 MU2 and i can see some of the details if i go directly to insight, but from my understand i should be able to see this from SSMC on the advanced analytics screen, but so far when i load up it up all i get is "Performance insights is not enabled" not sure if i've missed something, debating about trying to upgrade to ssmc to 3.5 as its currently running 3.4.1.0.258 but that should work from what i can tell.

Has anyone got this working in SSMC?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Advanced Analytics in SSMC
PostPosted: Thu Apr 11, 2019 3:59 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 1111
Location: Europe
Yupp.

You need to enable it in the settings of SSMC and it only works on systems with only SSDs.

SSMC 3.5 has at least one bug fixed for performance analytics, but from what I understand you haven't enabled it at all.

_________________
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my current or previous employers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Advanced Analytics in SSMC
PostPosted: Thu Apr 11, 2019 8:15 am 

Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2014 9:07 am
Posts: 176
MammaGutt you are a *STAR* looking in settings under application

I had to select YES next to "Advanced system performance and analytics reporting enabled" and BOOM its all working....

So does that mean its still only supported on SSD arrays only?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Advanced Analytics in SSMC
PostPosted: Fri Apr 12, 2019 2:41 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 1111
Location: Europe
koopa79 wrote:
So does that mean its still only supported on SSD arrays only?


Yes. If you have a 8200 with all SSDs it works. If you add spinning media to the system, it stops working.

_________________
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my current or previous employers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Advanced Analytics in SSMC
PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2020 9:54 am 

Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2020 8:34 am
Posts: 37
Hi,

What about the "normal" performance insights, such as Top Volume Hotspots By IOPs etc? is that covered on hybrid arrays, or full SSD only arrays?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Advanced Analytics in SSMC
PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2020 11:42 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 1111
Location: Europe
T16 wrote:
Hi,

What about the "normal" performance insights, such as Top Volume Hotspots By IOPs etc? is that covered on hybrid arrays, or full SSD only arrays?


If you have Vmware integration it will show this in Infosight at least. I think that top volumes also requires all SSDs in current SSMC but I can check it.

_________________
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my current or previous employers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Advanced Analytics in SSMC
PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2020 6:46 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 1111
Location: Europe
MammaGutt wrote:
T16 wrote:
Hi,

What about the "normal" performance insights, such as Top Volume Hotspots By IOPs etc? is that covered on hybrid arrays, or full SSD only arrays?


If you have Vmware integration it will show this in Infosight at least. I think that top volumes also requires all SSDs in current SSMC but I can check it.


That one is blank for me on a non-All-Flash system.

_________________
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my current or previous employers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Advanced Analytics in SSMC
PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2020 6:42 pm 

Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2020 8:34 am
Posts: 37
Hopefully the advanced topology works as that plugs into Esxi? Or is that All-flash only with esxi too?

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Advanced Analytics in SSMC
PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2020 1:57 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 1111
Location: Europe
T16 wrote:
Hopefully the advanced topology works as that plugs into Esxi? Or is that All-flash only with esxi too?

Thanks!


That only requires SP5.x so anything running 3.2.2 MU4 or later can get it.

_________________
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my current or previous employers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot] and 26 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt