HPE Storage Users Group

A Storage Administrator Community

Post subject: AO SSD allocation
PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2014 2:56 pm 

So im very new to 3par, and AO.

And i am trying to wrap my head around the AO function of the product.

I have an installation with 32 450GB mLC SSDs, 40 900GB FC 10K, and 12 4TB NL.

I would like to utilize as much of the flash as possible, and have therefore created 10 thin vluns at the moment, using the default FC_r5 CPG. i have setup AO on the CPG, and told the AO configuration it should also use the SSD_r5 as tier 0, and NL_r6 as tier 3.

From what i can see of datamovement at the moment, most of the data flows down to NL, which i suppose is expected. But i would like to have more utilization of my SSDs really.

When looking at my current CPG allocation it looks something like this: 60GB on SSD, 700GB on FC and 1TB on NL.

Since i have so much Flash, i would have assumed that capacity wouldnt be "wasted" by not being utilized..

I know that AO needs to look at the data for some time to make its moves, i had just hoped more would be moved the the higher tier.

Post subject: Re: AO SSD allocation
PostPosted: Mon Apr 14, 2014 6:17 am 

You can do a few things. First have you AO schedule look only at the busiest time of the day. We run our AO at 7pm and tell it to only go back 12 hours. This way it only make data moves based on our business day. Next set the AO configuration Performance mode this way ti will want to push more data up. The last step is tricky, you use the CPG growth warning settings to help guide AO to where you want to land more data. You can set a growth warning (note warning only, never set the growth limit) which will tell AO to not move data into a CPG if that CPG is at size that the growth warning is set to. We do this on out NL tier to help AO move more that it normally would to higher tiers.