HPE Storage Users Group

A Storage Administrator Community

Post subject: Does a standard 7200 fit for peer persistence ?
PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2014 5:21 pm 

Hello experts,

I'm completely new to implementing 3PAR Storeserv and I heading to my first setup of two 7200's that will have to form a peer-persistence couple for VMWare vMSC.
The 7200's are standard, so no optional HBA installed and therefore have two FC hostports per node.
From the load of manuals i've been digging thrue, I think I'm 'a little short' on FC ports to realize the setup.
I've read that peer persistence is only supported with vMSC when using RCFC.
Also, the RCFC link should be dedicated for remote copy so this would mean that I would have just one FC port per node left for production.
Would this still be a supported situation ?
Or do I definitely need the 4 port FC HBA (x4) to be able to get the solution working ?

I hope you guys can help with some answers, which i would greatly appreciate !

TIA for any enlightment !

Berndt

Post subject: Re: Does a standard 7200 fit for peer persistence ?
PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2014 7:02 pm 

Peer Persistence replication is also supported by HP over RCIP, it's still uniform access though so you still require a stretch fabric for the hosts.

Quote:
From memory though even then you're going to need the additional HBA, as the remote standby FC target ports should be on separate physical ports to the active ports attached to the local ESX nodes. I believe this was a recommendation due to a VMware limitation, but will see if I can confirm later using some notes I took. If that is still the case even using RCIP you'd end up with only a single port per node per site for local production.

Confirmed above is incorrect info based on a rather vague statement in the RC guide, you should use the same N:S:P on each array. So if you use RCIP for repliation (note same max latency figures apply) you will still have 4 x FC ports available per site to host ESX.