HPE Storage Users Group

A Storage Administrator Community

Post subject: CPG / VV Advice
PostPosted: Wed May 01, 2013 6:03 pm 

I'm a total noob to storage and SANs and pretty new to Hyper-V and 2012 but I've been tasked with setting up a 2012 Hyper-V cluster on a 3PAR 7200 with 24 x 900GB 10K SAS drives in it. I'm about to wade through the Storage Concepts guide and the other material but I just wanted to throw a post out there and maybe get some insights while I'm reading and learning.

How should I go about provisioning this storage for Hyper-V? It's going to hold VMs and for all the common Microsoft 2012/13 services - Exchange, SharePoint, SQL 2012, Lync etc. It's a fairly small environment, there'll only be a couple of Exchange VMs, 2 Lync VMs, 3 or 4 SharePoint and on like that. Only 1000 users using it all. One thing I do want to setup is guest clustering with SQL 2012 so I'd need to separate some shared storage for that.

Do I create one big RAID1 CPG using all 24 disks and then two TPVVs to present one for use as the CSV for Hyper-V and one for use by the SQL cluster? Or should I be creating smaller TPVVs and using multiple CSVs? I'm not sure whether I should be chopping up this storage all at once or provisioning it as and when. I've read that less CSVs are better so I thought I should just do one big one.

As you can probably tell, I have no idea and have some learning to do but any advice you can give me would help, I've got a week to get this up and running :lol:

Post subject: Re: CPG / VV Advice
PostPosted: Fri May 03, 2013 9:47 am 

Hello,

I'm about to do just about the same thing you're doing. Installation is next week. I'll have 48 15K drives and 8 SSD in a 7200.

My plan is to use SystemCenter VMM which will allocate storage for each VM on the fly. I think. In theory, I'll be able to map SCVMM storage service levels to CPGs of varying performance levels in the 3PAR.