HPE Storage Users Group

A Storage Administrator Community

Post subject: High storage latency 3Par 8200 and Vmware
PostPosted: Tue Sep 04, 2018 5:31 am 

Hi all, new to the forum and was hoping i could get some advice on a storage performance issue. I'm new to the 3par but do have some storage experience from working on P9500's and XP1024's in the past.

Setup is as follows. HP Synergy Frame with 6 ESX (v6.7) blades and a physical Oracle DB blade connected via iSCSI to a 3Par 8200 with 12x 1TB SSD. Synergy is updated to latest SPP release and we are currently waiting on a slot from HP to update the 3par to latest firmware revision (currently 3.2.2.709). I have set MPIO to Round robin for all datastores.
I'm experiencing significant latency across all datastores at present in a rapidly growing test environment (Currently running at 80+ VM's) . The VM's are not seeing any heavy usage at present and IOP's is low as we are still in the environment build phase so have not let it loose to the wider user base.
I'm seeing individual VM's storage latency peak at 250ms and am getting regular alerts from VMware. From the 3par i can see service times far higher than i would expect from a flash array. Even the physical Linux host is seeing average latency around 15ms(read), 30ms(write) on its attached LUN's.
Attachment:
volperf.jpg
volperf.jpg [ 145.37 KiB | Viewed 26110 times ]

So far the only changes i have made is to edit the ESX default IOP's limit to 1 instead of defualt 1000, this seems to have made a negligible difference. I have found multiple references suggesting turning off Delayed ACK in VMware for each host but can find no definitive recommendation from HP to do so, would that be a recommended next step?

Post subject: Re: High storage latency 3Par 8200 and Vmware
PostPosted: Tue Sep 04, 2018 6:02 am