HPE Storage Users Group

A Storage Administrator Community

Post subject: performance troubleshooting/tuning between NL and FC
PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2012 4:09 pm 

I'm fairly new at tracking down disk performance issues, so please bear with me. I'm also new to System Reporter and how to effectively use it to track down bottlenecks, which is one of the main drivers for this question. I'm not looking for all the answers, but really a dialogue to help me improve my understanding of the 3PAR hardware and how to make effective decisions relating to it.

I have a VM running in a farm with both FC and NL datastores. Our FC PD count is 224 and our NL PD count is 192. These datastores are spread across all of their respective spindles.

When we storage vmotion the VM from NL disks to FC disks we notice improvements in performance. This isn't surprising, but at the same time, I'm trying to better understand what to look at to know when something should be moved from NL to FC.

Clearly, the spindle count, seek time, and raw IOPSability of the FC are going to be major factors in the performance improvement. But, what are metrics that would be useful to review to know whether the issue is with a limitation of the NL vs FC or some other factor. I want to get the most out of our NL, and I want to provide compelling stories as to why something should be promoted. I'm focusing on the 3PAR side of things for now, because everything else appears to be the same, other than the underlying storage.

I'm sorry for the basic questions, but trying to build a foundation to allow me to dig deeper into analyzing our storage world. Thank you for any thoughts.

Post subject: Re: performance troubleshooting/tuning between NL and FC
PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2012 10:26 am 
Site Admin

I like the question, thanks for asking!